Starting Again: Crafting in Vain For Etsy

I’ve never had any desire to stay at home and be a homemaker… I’ve wanted to cut my own path and escape the 9-5, romanticising the idea of getting up to sun spilling onto my sheets, feeling the breeze from an open window on my face as I make fragrant coffee and browse through the inbox full of emails with offers of projects, opportunities and people wanting to purchase my jewellery (that I leisurely sit and make in an afternoon). This is how I thought it might be starting again down south. Turns out it takes a bit of time and graft before that happens.Β In reality I am struggling to motivate myself to get dressed and as for my inbox? – Empty!

Etsy has been the order of the week. I’ve narcissistically taken photograph after photograph of myself wearing my very best jewellery, set up a little make-shift studio in my livingroom and snapped away. I’ve uploaded, tagged, promoted and waited… and waited… and waited. Nothing. I seem to be getting sucked into the vast void that is etsy.

IMG_2815

Etsy is a flooded marketplace and it is very hard to stand out from the crowd. I love surfing the site and looking at the amazing work people do – I find it so inspiring. But how to compete? How to get traffic to my little shop? Any advice on this topic would be very welcome.

On the plus side I’ve had some marvellous days this week strolling by beach and daydreaming of different ways to make my work stand out, just a little bit, from the crowd.

IMG_2773 IMG_2796 IMG_2808

8 thoughts on “Starting Again: Crafting in Vain For Etsy

  1. Regardless of this, your work is really beautiful. Perhaps you could put some of your items in some hand made oriented shops? I don’t know if this is possible, but some shops here accept your items if they like them. You discuss the price you want for it, and then the shop owner decides if a profit can be made. You sign a paper, and presto! Once it is sold, you are contacted and come to pick up the cash.

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment. I have thought of going into shops but have felt a bit shy. Do you just call into the shops with samples of your work, or is it usually done through booking an appointment?

      • I have never done it, but I have seen people do it while I am visiting said shops. They just walk in with a bag of items, and talk to the owner. It’s probably best not to phone ahead (but it might be considered intrusive in some countries, dunno), as by phone you might get a “no” before they even see anything.
        Tell them you are willing to just leave one or two items (if they are being hard to convince) so the owner sees if they sell. Technically they are losing nothing as they’d pay you only once it is sold.
        You should have some sort of printed form both of you should sign, to make things a bit more official (the owner of the shop might have it, but just in case they don’t, you should be prepared).

  2. beautiful work! don’t give up the dream! it’s one that we all have (mine is almost an exact replica of yours), but it does take a while to get it all started. My shop has been open for over a year and I typically make 2-3 sales per week…so not a huge enough money maker to give up the day job, but maybe someday I will get there (and so will you!)

    • It’s lovely to know that I’m not the only one fighting for an alternative to the 9-5, and it’s even nicer to know that your shop took off (I’ve just had a look at your shop by the way and you have some beautiful bits in it) xx

  3. Lovely work. Keep going! Everyone has to start somewhere. πŸ˜‰

  4. It seems that since Etsy has changed it’s terms and conditions people have been fleeing towards Zibbet. I suggest you open a store there as well since listing is free. If I’m not mistaken, you can even automatically import your Etsy listings into Zibbet.

    Good luck and happy selling! πŸ™‚

    • That’s a great tip – thank you. I hadn’t heard of Zibbet but have just been and checked it out and it looks really good. I like that you get to list a decent amount of items for free to test to water πŸ™‚ Why not!?

Leave a Reply

